What I Believe (Tom Spurgeon)

dylan02

Tom Spurgeon is one of my favourite writers and thinkers about comics. He asked to be identified by his full name.

Among the many things Tom has written is Wildwood, an enormously enjoyable Christian comic strip drawn by Dan Wright.

1. What are your spiritual beliefs?

I’m a born-again christian. I’m not sure that I’ve found the particular “brand” of christianity that appeals to me, but I’m sympathetic to elements of the catholic, methodist and quaker traditions.

2. How sure are you that those beliefs are true?

I’m not.

3. How did you come to have these beliefs?

I’m not sure I understand this question. I mean, it’s my entire life that brought me to this point, including those beliefs. Prayer, I guess, mostly? I’m not sure I’m following you.

4. What do you wish you could believe (but don’t)?

I don’t think I understand this question at all.

5. What do you think it means to believe in something?

I really don’t understand this question.

6. Does this stuff matter to you? Do you think about it much?

The practice of my religious beliefs is core to my central being and I reflect on my relationship with God and how I can do more to act on those beliefs constantly. I don’t sit around and thinking about my beliefs, if that’s what “this stuff” means. It’s not the beliefs I’m thinking about, it’s my life and how that life intersects with other lives. That’s all informed by my faith. So I’m not thinking about “do I really believe in communion or what?”

Tom1

Leave a Reply

