What I Believe (Tom)

Photo on 1-21-13 at 2.33 PM

Tom is a cartoonist who lives in Florida, USA.

1. What are your spiritual beliefs?

My spiritual beliefs, like my artistic ones, are always up for questioning. Here are the solid, unchanging beliefs:

  • The world, the world of the spirit, is larger than I can ever perceive, and probably more connected that I can ever perceive.
  • I should believe in that connection and strive to perceive it as clearly as possible (which as I said is impossible).
  • If that perception is ever heightened enough to participate in the connection, in the grander reverberations, I should strive to align my actions with it.


So, the changing beliefs, as opposed to the unchanging beliefs, are merely the methods of achieving the above:

  • Openness.
  • Actions that are giving, that allow consciousness to unfold, and abilities to thrive. Helping people connect.
  • Connections are through communications: art, language, non verbal, sensory, tonal, large, small etc. All connections which are based on openness, respect for life, curiosity should be followed.
  • Open the body, keep aware of your body.
  • Intellectual curiosity.
  • Emotional openness.
  • Ritual.
  • There are probably many many more.

2. How sure are you that those beliefs are true?

The world is larger and more connected than I can perceive? 100% sure. The methods for aligning myself with those systems etc.? 90% sure.

3. How did you come to have these beliefs?

Years of finding people that believed the similar and realizing their words and actions rang true to what I always felt. Also, two amazing solitary LSD experiences in my early twenties that confirmed everything I felt, and have since been confirmed by senses ever since.

4. What do you wish you could believe (but don’t)?

Reincarnation. It’s a lovely idea, but I believe we are drops in the ocean pulled apart by a wave. When we return, there may be more drops, but none like we are now, and there is no way to know that the old drop is somehow a part of a new drop. Reincarnation seems a hopeless wish of the ego to me.

5. What do you think it means to believe in something?

What?

6. Does this stuff matter to you? Do you think about it much?

Immensely. More than anything else. Everything I do is to keep in alignment with the greater world, the greater connective-ness. My daughter being taken away from me is the most immense test of this belief, and I’m not sure I’m going to come out still believing, but I think I see it already happening. My need to share it in comics (or whatever) form is a part of the my striving to still believe that the connections are meant to be aligned with, and not angrily abandoned. I don’t know why any of this happened to me, but I am only one person, my daughter and wife only two people, and I can either find a way to remain connected to the larger, spiritual world, or I can rebel from it, and pull myself from it. So far, my body, ego and spirit have not let me break away, though I’ve entertained thoughts of suicide, fury, and isolation. Ultimately, I think I’m being asked to stay connected, to find a way to believe that these earthly events have a larger connection to the greater spiritual truth, that as I said, I cannot perceive.

But that said, I am not up for being tested again. If I am tested again, I am out of here, with no qualms.

One thought on “What I Believe (Tom)

Leave a Reply

